Scott The Woz's Charity Bonanza

It's the most wonderful time of the year! Scott The Woz, Video game reviewer youtuber, has announced his annual holiday season merchandise line-up, with all proceeds going to charity (Children's miracle network, Critical care comics). Scott's annual charity event has raised an impressive amount over the years

In 2019 you raised nearly $75,000 to charity! In 2020 over $200,000!! And in 2021 a whopping $475,000!!!

The merch is endlessly impressive, tshirts, licensed board games, comics, retro game random boxes, etc. One of this year's big items is a trading card pack. There are 51 to collect, and not only is that impressive, but each trading card has a qr code with a link to an entire new, secret video, 52 new videos. The amount of effort and fun put into the merchandise projects fills me with joy each year, even though I have not purchased anything, since I'm not sure what shipping rates would be like to here.

Here's a link to the video announcing this year's event, if you feel interested.

Scott The Woz's Charity Bonanza 2022

Anyways! Why did I bore your skull out, sounding like an advertisement? Maybe you are already familiar with this event, wondering what the hell is he telling me all this for?

Scott The Woz's annual charity event is always something that fills me with joy, these type of creative endeavours of making your own product inspires me like no other, akin to the inspiration I feel after watching the documentary akihabara geeks (I love seeing ryukishi07's segment). Something so inspirational to me, and it's for charity! I'm not interested in many of the products this year (not that I was gonna buy), but the trading cards are awesome and I genuinely want the poster with the various youtubers on it. The cameo of all those familiar youtube faces, in borderline forever, was something that warmed my heart, and seeing the poster, it's just so wonderful. Hearing Scott talk about the poster and the scene it is based off of was fun to hear. There's just something fun about Scott the Woz, a youtube channel I have been watching for over half a decade now, mention these channels as inspirations to him, in the same way that many of this youtubers were also inspirations to me, when I attempted to be a video game reviewer youtuber (lol), in my youth.

It made me wake up thinking about my review of Tenchu stealth assasins that I did back in 2013, using a shitty camcorder, and being incredibly young and stupid. I honestly wonder what it would be like if I started to put effort into making videos like that, the type of videos I've enjoyed for so many years. The dog island review, anyone? Watching Scott the Woz, and seeing how far he has come, for all these years, makes me feel "Oh god, I'm aging so rapidly, time is passing onwards so quickly", which is also what I feel when thinking about all those other Youtubers too. Passing of time can be scary, especially when I feel like the 5th Scott the Woz video only came out 2 years ago, when really, it was half a decade ago. Despite the fear of time, it can become comforting to look at where we started out, and where we are now, seeing how far we have come. Who I was when I watched caddicarus for the first time seems like a memory so distant and far away, but it's fun an nostalgic to look back on those times.

I guess the real reason I made this post was that it was fuelled by 1. nostalgia and 2. inspiration for creative endeavours. The passage of time can be scary, but nostalgia is so sweet, and it's mesmerizing, to me, seeing people create things and have them come to life. Inspirational.

That's all for now, have a good one.

```
In other news, Cl-
 ̄ ̄V ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄ ̄
 ____      clik     ∧_∧    
  /  /   | |       + ◇⊂(・ω・ ヽ That's enough news for today.
l 二 |    | |         /  ̄ ̄旦 ̄ ̄/|
\_ヽ__||       ./_____//
  |;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;|       |l─────‐l|'

```

- dashlake
back